Warren Richardson

While doing research on photographers that focus on subjects using drugs, I stumbled upon Warren Richardson. He has done many projects looking at homelessness and drug abuse and how they relate. I like his work as he shows it for what it is and doesn’t true to ‘sugar coat’ the truth, this is something I want to take forward within my practise.

The nature of his work is much more sinister if you will then mine, as his work shows the use of heavier drugs and of individuals who would rather keep living on the street as long as they keep getting their fix. The individuals that I am looking at use drugs in a lighter sense and use lighter drugs. They are not homeless and they certainly wouldn’t give up their home for their drugs.

In a way Richardson’s work is very stereotypical of what people think drug users are and I want to show that actually thats not the case. That behind closed doors, anyone can use drugs and that even those that you least expect do. I understand the harm that can be done when using drugs as I have experienced it first hand however not everyone goes to that extreme.

Leave a comment